Final Thoughts

After posting my major blog post I am very happy with how it turned out. I think that my argument was very clearly laid out and it was very convincing, supported by solid sources. The writing process was very long and complicated. My thesis and argument changed many times since I began the writing process. At first I was planning on arguing that ADHD medication is over prescribed but upon further research I came to the conclusion that it was not. The next argument that I was planning on using in my blog is that teacher’s should change their teaching styles to help out those students with ADHD. After further research with this I decided that I wanted my audience to be parent’s with children who have ADHD rather than teacher’s. I feel like my final argument is far superior to my other previous arguments, and I am glad that I changed my argument so much even though doing so made the writing process longer.

One thing that I wish I was able to fit into my blog post is the difference between ADHD medications. Due to the 2000 word requirement, I did not have enough space to talk about the differences between the medications that are given out to children with ADHD. I had to clump all the medications together, even though many of them work differently, and have different side effects. There is a big difference between stimulant medication and non-medication stimulant.

Stimulants: Stimulants increase dopamine and norepinephrine in the brain to improve concentration while also decreasing fatigue. Stimulants are often the first course of medications used for ADHD treatment.

Non-stimulants: Non-stimulants affect the brain differently than stimulants. Though these drugs affect neurotransmitters, they don’t increase dopamine levels. It also generally takes longer to see results.  Click here to read more about the differences between Stimulant and Non-Stimulant medication

Going further I want to remind you of the importance of behavior therapy. Medication should never be a replacement to therapy, and only be given to your children alongside therapy if therapy alone is not working.

Leave a Reply

